Dear friends,

You are welcome to the Web Site of the St. Petersburg Human Rights Center "Krilija (Wings)". You'll find here the history of our public organization and the information concerning its everyday activity.

The main goal of the Center is the help and support of homo-, bi- and transsexuals at critical moments of their lives.

During the Soviet times homosexuality was persecuted by the state itself, installing special laws and criminal paragraphs, forbidding same sex love activity. Today the state has nothing against the free love in common and same sex love in particular, but the public opinion is sometimes hostile towards homosexuality, not accepting it as a variation of the norm of the human sexuality.

Though there are rather many gay night clubs, saunas and other elements of "our" subculture at large cities, the problem of the disunity of the LGBT community members is not solved - everyone is left by himself! And if something bad would happen to you, where from could you obtain help and support? Our nonprofit organization tries to fill in this gap in the the structure of our civil society.

We would gladly accept your comments and proposals.


   |   Next page

Our history

Our gay and lesbian public organization "Krilija" was the first one in Russian history to be officially registered on October 9, 1991 after one year of confrontation and severe struggle at the courts on different level. Really, it was a historic event in Russian gay pride movement, which was marked with sympathy by all regional and some Moscow mass media.

We gave an advertisement about our registration at weekly "Arguments and Facts", issued at that time at the amount of 33 million copies. In response we got about 10000 letters and a group of 20 volunteers answered the most of them (only about 30 of threats, usually unsubscribed, and letters from straights to lesbians were left without a reply). We continue to get letters from all the corners of the former USSR, but, of course, at less quantities now.

Дорогие друзья!

Добро пожаловать на сайт Санкт-Петербургского Правозащитного Центра "Крылья". Здесь вы можете ознакомиться с историей создания и деятельностью нашей общественной организации.

В советские времена с гомосексуализмом боролось непосредственно государство, вводя специальные законы и уголовные статьи, запрещающие однополую любовь. В данное время государство "не возражает" против однополой любви, но общественное мнение не всегда воспринимает гомосексуальность как естественный для человека вариант сексуальной ориентации.

Хотя в больших российских городах появилось довольно много ночных гей- клубов, саун и прочих элементов "нашей" субкультуры, проблема разобщения ЛГБТ сообщества отнюдь не разрешена - каждый сам за себя и сам по себе! А случись что - где и у кого искать поддержки и помощи? Наша некоммерческая организация старается восполнить именно этот пробел в социальной структуре гражданского общества.

Мы будем рады Вашим откликам и предложениям.


   |   Далее

Наша история

"Крылья" в этом году отметят свое 25-летие: 9 октября 1991 года после года конфронтации и упорной борьбы в судах различных инстанций наша общественная организация была официально зарегистрирована первой из подобных объединений в истории России. Это историческое событие Российского гей-движения было с симпатией отмечено местными и центральными средствами массовой информации.

Мы дали объявление о нашей регистрации в еженедельнике "Аргументы и Факты", издававшимся тиражом 33 миллиона экземпляров. Мы получили около 10 тысяч писем. Группа из 20 добровольцев ответила на большую часть из них (около 30 писем оскорбительного содержания, обычно анонимных, и письма от "натуралов" к лесбиянкам были оставлены без внимания). И сегодня мы продолжаем получать письма со всех концов бывшего Советского Союза.

info
   |   Круглый стол...